Welcome Back

Whew. It’s been a while. In the time that Chad and I have been away from this site many things have changed. We’ve both moved, found new jobs, one of us is married and the other is currently on the cusp of asking the question.

With all of these big life changes its been tough to find the time to sit down and talk about sports, but cool stuff continues to happen even without us there to write about it. It’s been particularly hard to watch the NBA this year, with the game evolving into a fast paced, death from above, blink-and-you’ll-miss-it butterfly, without being able to sit down and write about it.

Look, I’ve always been a huge fan of the NBA. For my money there is no better sport when it comes to the style of play, the personalities of the players, the quality of the writing and the bliss that is NBA Twitter/Reddit/Vine. There is hardly a waking hour that goes by without me taking in some kind of NBA related shot. I work nights, so I miss a lot of games live, but thanks to social media and league pass I really don’t miss anything. When Stephen Curry decides he wants to hobble Chris Paul, the world let’s me know about it almost immediately.

Basketball is now the second most popular sport in the world behind soccer football. The NFL is not going anywhere in the US for awhile, but with the new information we have on concussions, and the general seediness the league seems to currently be seeped in, there is a foreseeable future in which basketball could be the worlds most popular professional sport, and that delights me to no end.

I’m a hoops junkie. This year alone I’ve probably watched over a 200 games, read hundreds of columns and listened to endless hours of basketball focused podcasts. I’ve watched so many Warriors games that my normally basketball agnostic girlfriend has become a fan. There are even days (God help me) when I find myself re-watching games from earlier in the season.

All of this to say that there has never been a better time to start watching the NBA. The regular season is winding down, and the next couple of weeks will full of important games featuring teams playing a breed of basketball that I’m not sure the casual fan has had a chance to take in yet. There has been a space and pace revolution that teams like the Spurs, Warriors, Hawks, and even Cleveland are using to turn the entire Association on its head. It’s been a lot of fun to watch this style of player affect how every team shapes their lineups, as well as offensive and defensive philosophies.

The game is just a lot of fun to watch. Which brings me back to this website. I just can’t sit idle anymore while one of my favorite past times is blooming into the beautiful game. There’s so much I want to talk about. I want to talk about about how Kawhai Leonard is becoming the next Scottie Pippen, and how Stephen Curry is the leagues most valuable player (but probably not the MVP). I missed my chance to be one of the first people on the Anthony Davis is not a human being, but a cyborg built in a lab to be the ultimate basketball playing machine. Mostly I just want to write about the sport I love, and perhaps I may even have a thing or two to say about other goings on in the wide world of sports. We’ll see.

It feels good to be back. Just don’t ask me about the Lakers.

Leave a Reply

